Creating an Environment for "Continuous Compliance" within Open Source Software



Thursday, 22 September, 2016
15:00 (BST) | 16:00 (CEST) | 7:00 (PDT) | 9:00 (CDT) |10:00 (EDT)

Presented by Martin Callinan, Founder, Source Code Control Limited
and Jeff Luszcz, Founder & CTO, Palamida

REGISTER HERE

Open Source Software is now broadly used in the development of software applications. The ability to reuse components of code already created allows development teams to create more code, with more functionality, faster. It also promotes the adoption of standards and makes applications more interoperable.

Although Open Source Software components typically require no licensing fee, it does come at a cost. This cost is uncertainty – or perceived uncertainty in many cases. Most software developers will be meticulous about what components they use from the perspective of functionality as they want to build code that works.

However those Open Source Software components could have inherent business risks associated with them such as Legal/IP compliance, security vulnerabilities and operational risk. IP Investors, cyber insurance companies and business management are becoming aware of the need for demonstrable controls to be in place to mitigate these risks.

This talk will discuss strategies for a continuous compliance culture which will manage the risks without impacting technical innovation. These strategies can be leveraged by both organisations implementing open source based solutions or by technical organisations creating open source based solutions.

About our Guest Presenter:
Martin CallinanMartin Callinan has over 20 years’ experience in the software industry specialising in software licensing, IT Governance and risk avoidance. He has seen the challenges of risk management related to various aspects of the software ecosystem. Martin is now focused on assisting organisations leveraging the benefits of open source software to create bespoke applications in house or through third parties while managing the business risks of intellectual property, open source component licensing, copyrights, security vulnerability management, and operational risk. The result for organisations should be a process of continuous compliance solution alongside a company’s DevOps process.

scclogo


Related Tags


Sign up to get Email Notifications

News & Events

Knowledge Center